Twelve of the borough's parking zones run seven days a week, some to 11pm. Craven Cottage match days extend three more. Tariffs, permits and the 40p car park.

The expensive assumption about parking in Fulham is that Sunday is free. On the council’s list of thirty-four zones and sub-zones, twelve control parking seven days a week, and four of those run until 11pm.

The council publishes the whole list on its parking zone times and charges page, and the spread is wide. Most zones are the ordinary Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm. A dozen are not. Which one you are standing in is decided by the sign, not by the neighbourhood.

Everything below was read from the council’s own pages on 2 September 2026.

The zones that control seven days a week

Zone Controlled times Max stay
A Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 11pm 2 hours
B Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 11pm 90 minutes
C Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 11pm 90 minutes
E Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 11pm 90 minutes
D Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 10pm 1 hour
F Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 10pm 2 hours
S Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 10pm 1 hour
M, Cromwell Ave, Rivercourt Rd and Weltje Rd only Mon to Sun, 8.30am to 10pm 2 hours
G Mon to Sun, 9am to 10pm 2 hours
OO Mon to Sun, 9am to 10pm Not stated
JJ Mon to Sun, 9am to 9pm Not stated
K, Richford Street area Mon to Sun, 9am to 8pm Not stated

Two of those entries are traps in their own right. Zone M is a Monday to Friday zone almost everywhere, except on Cromwell Avenue, Rivercourt Road and Weltje Road, where it runs all week until 10pm. Zone K is the same story: Monday to Friday, except around Richford Street.

A further nine zones run Monday to Saturday: NN, O, Q, QQ, R, U, W, Z, and normally X and Y. The rest are Monday to Friday. Outside the controlled hours, parking in any zone is free.

Bank holidays are mostly free, with three exceptions

This is the one place where the seven-day zones relax. The council’s bank holiday parking page says that in the majority of zones, on-street pay and display charges do not apply on public and bank holidays. The exceptions are named:

  • Zone G charges from 9am to 10pm every single day including bank holidays. The only two days it stops are Christmas Day and Easter Sunday.
  • Zones T, X and Y charge on Sundays and bank holidays whenever Fulham are at home. More on that below.

What does not relax on a bank holiday: yellow lines, loading restrictions, bus lanes, disabled bays, taxi ranks, doctors’ bays, banned turns, box junctions, pavement parking and zig-zags at crossings. If the sign shows no days, the restriction applies every day.

What an hour costs

Grouped bar chart of Hammersmith and Fulham on-street parking rates by CO2 emissions band. Pay and display runs from £2.80 an hour in bands 1 and 2 to £7.00 in band 7. Resident visitor permit sessions run from £1.80 to £2.80 an hour. Diesel vehicles pay £1 an hour extra.
On-street hourly rates, 2026. Source: LBHF parking zone times and charges, and visitor permit costs. Graphic by Fulham Wire.
Share this chartFacebookWhatsAppX

Hammersmith and Fulham prices parking by the car, not by the street. Pay and display and RingGo rates run from £2.80 an hour for a zero-emission or low-emission vehicle to £7.00 an hour for anything over 225g/km of CO2. Diesel vehicles pay a £1 an hour surcharge on top of every band. You can look up your own figure through the DVLA vehicle information service.

The gap between the machine rate and the visitor rate is the thing worth acting on. A resident who holds a visitor permit can book sessions for guests at £1.80 to £2.80 an hour. The permit itself is free. For a band 7 car, that is £7.00 an hour at the machine against £2.80 booked by the resident, on the same bay.

Disabled users get a 50 per cent discount on visitor sessions for the first 240 hours of parking each year. Reminder texts, if you leave them switched on, cost 20p each.

Resident permits

Resident permit prices are also emissions-based, and they changed on 3 February 2025, the first rise since 2012. A first permit for a petrol, hybrid or electric car or van costs:

Band CO2 Monthly 6 months 12 months
1 0g/km £10.41 £62.50 £125
2 1 to 75g/km £13 £78 £156
3 76 to 120g/km £16.08 £96.50 £193
4 121 to 150g/km £19.17 £115 £230
5 151 to 185g/km £22.17 £133 £266
6 186 to 225g/km £25.25 £151.50 £303
7 Over 225g/km £28.33 £170 £340

Source: permit costs. Diesel and hybrid diesel cars are charged on a separate, higher scale. Every adult in a household can hold permits for up to two vehicles registered to them, and the second costs more. The monthly option needs full documentation up front.

Match days at Craven Cottage change three zones

This is the local rule that catches visitors and residents alike. On any event day at Craven Cottage, and that means football or any other event, zones T, X and Y switch to extended hours including Sundays and bank holidays:

  • Zone T: 9am to 10pm, two hours maximum on pay and display.
  • Zones X and Y: 9am to 9.30pm, one hour maximum on pay and display.

Normally those zones are Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm (T) and Monday to Saturday 9am to 5pm (X and Y). On an event day the restrictions also cover shared permit bays and single yellow lines. Residents’ visitors can stay longer than the maximum, but only in a shared permit bay and only with a booked visitor session.

Fulham’s home fixtures for 2026/27 include Crystal Palace on 5 September, Manchester United on Sunday 20 September, Hull City on 17 October, Newcastle on 7 November, Bournemouth on 28 November, Brentford on 12 December, Brighton on Boxing Day and Arsenal on 30 December. Dates move, so the council runs an email and SMS alert list for event days. Kick-off is 3pm unless stated.

Council car parks, and the cheapest space in Fulham

The council runs four car parks. Their car parks page gives the tariffs:

Car park Times Charge
Coomer Place, Fulham Mon to Sat, 9am to 8pm 20p per 30 min, 40p per hour, 2 hours max
Hurlingham Park, Fulham Mon to Fri, 9am to 5pm £2.20 per hour, 4 hours max
Charitable Trust, W12 Mon to Sun, 8am to 6.30pm £1.10 per 30 min, £2.20 per hour
Scrubs Lane, W12 Mon to Sun, 8am to 6.30pm £1.10 per 30 min, £2.20 per hour

The Coomer Place “Stop and Shop” car park is the outlier. It charges 40p an hour, against up to £7 an hour for the same car on the street outside. The two hour maximum is the catch, which is what “stop and shop” is meant to signal.

Hurlingham Park is free on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays, and motorcycles park there free at all times.

None of the four is at a station. For Hammersmith and Shepherd’s Bush there are commercial car parks at Kings Mall off Glenthorne Road and at Westfield London. Fulham Broadway, Parsons Green and Putney Bridge stations have no council car park of their own, so a commuter parking near them is parking on-street, under whichever zone applies.

Blue Badge holders

The rules here are unusually generous, and they are set out on the council’s parking for disabled people page.

  • Park free and without a time limit in almost any shared-use pay and display bay, resident bay or marked disabled bay. You do not have to use a designated disabled bay.
  • Park up to three hours on a yellow line, with the clock displayed, as long as you are not obstructing and not breaking a loading restriction.
  • The council deliberately publishes no map of disabled bays, because the badge works borough-wide.

There are two exceptions. Badge holders cannot use the permit-holder-only bays on Macfarlane Road and Hopgood Street in zone G without also booking a zone G visitor session, though no payment is needed. And some numbered bays are assigned to a named individual, where a Blue Badge alone is not valid.

A digital permit is now available so Blue Badge residents can park in their home zone without displaying the physical badge. To apply for a bay outside your home, email traffic.orders@lbhf.gov.uk. The council pays for an independent medical assessment, and warns the process takes up to five months because it must consult the emergency services first.

Also on Fulham Wire